Logitech S715i Portable 30-Pin iPod/iPhone Speaker Dock (Discontinued by Manufacturer) Review

  • Logitech MM50 Portable Speaker Review
  • Logitech Pure-Fi Anywhere 2 as Bluetooth Speaker
  • Bose SoundDock Series II 30-Pin iPod/iPhone Speaker Dock Review
  • Klipsch SXT Demo Testing Trance Music
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: $249.95 (as of November 18, 2018 3:05 am – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Looks like a charm. Sounds like a monster. With its compact design, travel case and rechargeable battery, this high-fidelity speaker lets you play up to 8 straight hours of music any place you go.With the Apple seal of approval, you have the ultimate guarantee that your speaker will work perfectly with iPod and iPhone.Take your music anywhere-your included travel case holds the compact speaker, A/C adapter and remote control.2-Year Limited Hardware Warranty.

Customer Reviews

Very Good Buy

 on September 14, 2010
By Genevieve
I bought this docking station for use while deployed to Iraq and I hijacked my wife’s Amazon account to do it (smart, right?). It is surprisingly light and slim, especially considering the fullness, crispness, and volume of the sound that it produces. I have not been disappointed, particularly at this price point.

Bose Sounddock portable vs. Logitech comparison

 on November 5, 2011
By J.
**UPDATE** This music system completely died on me. I’m not sure if it was a faulty product, but I was expecting it to last a long time. I used it sparingly and took good care of it. No water damage, no dropping it. It simply died. I’m thoroughly disappointed and don’t trust the logitech brand much anymore. For 100 dollars, I was expecting a high quality, long lasting product.

Very good sound, two gripes

 on September 19, 2010
By Roman Shulman
Right out of the box and plugged in the unit produced very good sound. At first I thought the kickstand was flimsy and was not supporting the unit well. Another review here helped resolve this by pointing out that it needs to be pushed in harder than one may think, and then it really does lock in.

Outstanding purchase, 7 YEARS later!

 on May 20, 2017
By Brad Kublin
WOW! Bought this in 2010 for $149 and kept it in my bathroom to jam out in the shower. Took it to the beach for several years and just in general abused it on highest vol setting. Today the right speaker blew, so I threw it out…however I can’t say enough about the quality from this lil guy for nearly 7 years. Had to come on and write a review as logitech clearly deserves some recognition.

Dazzling Sound UNBEATABLE Price GREAT Features

 on May 7, 2012
By Peter Suslock
Back in the day when audio equipment was king, I was hooked on publications like Stereo Review and Audiophile.Long before Plasma Televisions and Smart Phones, state of the art audio equipment was the make and measure of in home entertainment. I still have my beloved separate components from those days, by legendary manufacturers such as Polk, Macintosh, Klipsh,Luxman, Celestial and Yamaha.

Excellent performance

 on February 18, 2015
By J. Trimble
I bought my first Logitech S715i over three years ago, roughly the same time that I bought a Klipsch iGroove SXT and a 4th generation iPod Touch. I used the iPod alternately in the two units, located in different parts of the house. I never once had a problem playing it in the Logitech, but I encountered an odd compatibility problem with the Klipsch. Each time, after inserting the iPod and turning on both it and the Klipsch, I’d get barely any sound. I learned, though, that if I’d then unplug, then immediately replug, the Klipsch, voila! the unit would come alive. Still, the sound was never as deliciously full-bodied and clear as what I got from the Logitech. So when the bass on my Klipsch gave out a couple of weeks ago, I ordered a second Logitech S7155i, and I’ve been as pleased with it as with my first one. BTW, I was tempted to buy its Bluetooth Wireless brother, if only for novelty’s sake, but I nixed that idea after learning that it wouldn’t recharge my iPod, a feature too handy to forego. I can’t speak to the Logitech’s performance under battery power alone since I always use it plugged in.

Pretty Decent Sound For A Small Entry Level Dock

 on February 4, 2012
By jadeddj81
This is a great dock for the money. Compact, good sound, looks good too. I originally wanted the Bose Sound Dock because I had heard it’s performance at parties, etc..but at the end of the day I just didn’t feel that spending $350-500 was necessary to get what I needed. After looking at many reviews on YouTube (the best review was done by LiveTech Australia -if you want to see a really good video review with sound performance), I chose this one due to it’s ergonomic design, portability, sound, and price point.

Big Sound from a Small Package

 on November 18, 2011
By Konadreamer
I was really torn between this and the Klipsch iGroove SXT, just based on the reviews alone. So, I decided to take a trip down to my local big box electronics store and see what they had on shelf. They had both units on shelf and the Kipsch was actually on sale for $50 less than on Amazon. Very tempting!!! I didn’t realize how small the Klipsch unit actually was, but I put my new iPod Nano in it and cranked it up. Very surprising that it can push out as much sound as it does and I liked the styling better than the S715i. I tried one of the comparable Sony units and it sounded better than the Klipsch, but it was larger and cost $100 more, so that was not going to fly with me. I even tried the Bose out just for kicks….and it sounded pretty good, but not $300 good!! Geez!

I have an Ipod that you can easily attach to the base on top and I turn …

 on August 16, 2015
By D. Steinemann
I purchased this Logitech for myself to listen to European radio that is streamed over the internet. I have an Ipod that you can easily attach to the base on top and I turn it to the internet channel that I want to listen to. I then can listen all day long to my European radio station. It is really cool. On nice summer days I bring the speakers outside into the backyard and I can listen to my radio also outside. The battery lasts for a few hours. I have had this speaker for more than one year and I can honestly say it still works perfectly like it did on the day I received it. The battery also still last for at least 4 hours without being plugged in. The only downside is that when it is unplugged the volume is lower than when it is plugged in, but the quality is still the same. I can highly recommend this speaker to anybody who is looking for a good quality easy to use speaker. You can also connect non apple products with an extra cable (I sometimes connect my sons mp3 player and we listen to his music through the speaker).

These Speakers are Great

 on January 28, 2011
By Amazon Customer
As other reviewers have said, even the ones who have complaints about this item, the sound is GREAT! I certainly agree that the sound is better when plugged into AC current, but the fact that the deep base resonator’s don’t work on battery power is understandable to me. They would use up the battery in no time. It’s a fair compromise, IMHO. There is still plenty of base and fullness of sound that comes from the 3″ speakers on battery power to make these speakers quite acceptable in that mode.

Logitech S715i Portable 30-Pin IPod/iPhone Speaker Dock (Discontinued By Manufacturer) Review
Logitech S715i Portable 30-Pin IPod/iPhone Speaker Dock (Discontinued By Manufacturer) Review
Logitech S715i Portable 30-Pin IPod/iPhone Speaker Dock (Discontinued By Manufacturer) Review

Logitech S715i Portable 30-Pin IPod/iPhone Speaker Dock (Discontinued By Manufacturer) Review

Logitech S715i Portable 30-Pin IPod/iPhone Speaker Dock (Discontinued By Manufacturer) Review