Bose Soundwear Companion Wireless Wearable Speaker – Black Review

  • Bose SoundWear Review: A Speaker You Can Wear
  • Bose SoundWear Companion Personal Speaker
  • Bose SoundWear Companion Speaker – They Made My Top 5 Best!
  • Bose Soundwear Companion Speaker Review
  • Bose SoundWear Speaker Overview
  • Bose Soundwear Companion Wearable Speaker REVIEW
  • Bose SoundWear wearable personal speaker review
  • Review: Bose SoundWear Companion
  • Bose Soundwear REVIEW: WORTH IT.
  • Bose Soundwear Companion Overview
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: $299.00 $299.00 (as of August 14, 2018 6:52 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Presenting the current in a long line of groundbreaking, innovative items from Bose. The SoundWear Companion speaker is a wearable speaker that surrounds you with sound, so you can stay connected to your environment, access music and virtual assistants (like Siri and the Google Assistant) and take calls– all without needing to take your phone out of your pocket. It's packed with innovations that develop a genuinely special and immersive sound experience– surrounding you with clear, complete sound– while restricting exactly what others hear around you. With a comfy and flexible design, it's much better noise you can wear at work, in your home or on the go.

Every part of this speaker is engineered to deliver clear, effective noise and remarkably deep bass. Digital signal processing and famous waveguide innovation pump out the sort of deep, abundant noise other wearables don't. Upward facing speakers point precisely towards your ears, maximizing exactly what you hear, while lessening what others hear.

A three-button control makes it easy to make calls, play and time out tracks and access your phone's Siri or the Google Assistant right from the speaker. An innovative microphone system ensures calls and your phone's virtual assistant apps sound clear and intelligible even in windy and loud environments. You can select between vibration and out-loud signals to notify you of incoming calls.
And the speaker plays for approximately 12 hours off a single charge (and a quick 15-minute charge provides up to 3 hours of efficiency), so you can listen throughout your day.

The SoundWear Companion speaker is flexible, resilient therefore comfy you may forget you are wearing it. A bend-and-stay steel wire enclosed in medical grade silicone offers just the correct amount of low-spring torsion to stay form-fitted to your shoulders throughout the day. The speaker is sweat and weather condition resistant (with an IPX4 score) and comes with a four-way stretchable cover made to hold up against dust and fixed. And the cover is acoustically transparent, so nothing gets in between you and better noise. Additional speaker covers– offered in Blue, Plum and Grey– are offered separately.

Customer Reviews

Perfect for my Needs!!! Best Bose Purchase Ever!

 on September 28, 2017
By CJ Matthews
This Bose Soundwear is exactly what I have been needing for a long time. I am constantly connected to music or audiobooks and have only had the option of earbuds or headphones which are perfect for air travel or laying in bed to not disturb the wife or speakers which are great for outside listening or around the house when I am by myself. Neither of these solutions have worked for me when working around the house and one of the kids wants to watch tv, so off goes the speaker and can’t put on earbuds or headphones because I need to listen for the door or phone. This Soundwear is absolutely perfect for this. They are loud enough to hear perfectly with amazing sound and they can’t be heard by anyone not too close to me and frees my ears for everything else that I need to be aware of. I will be wearing this daily at my desk at work and around the house.

Just what I’ve always needed, I love this unit soooo much!

 on September 23, 2017
By Ron Gardiner
Here’s the most amazing thing about the Bose Soundwear Companion, and I didn’t understand about this unique quality before I purchased the Soundwear. There’s something about having the speakers a few inches away, and aimed up at your ears, that makes music sound… well, intimate, but spacious at the same time. Listening to music this way is a completely different experience from listening to earbuds, headphones, or regular home speakers. It’s hard to explain; it’s like a sound cloud that envelopes your head and travels with you, while keeping you in the ‘sweet spot’ of perfect balance between the various speakers. As an example, play music on your cell at low volume and put the phone about 3 inches below an ear, and aimed at your ear. Now imagine that on both ears, it’s really pleasant. Now put the cell’s speaker up against your ear, like with earbuds or headphones, it’s not the same sensation. This is now my favorite way to enjoy music, and I have been a serious user of high-end components at home (power-amp, pre-amp, etc.) so that’s kind of crazy. I would pay $300 for this unique sound quality by itself. Oh, and that same sensation is experienced when on the phone too, with calls being crystal clear.

Fantastic "earphones"

 on October 28, 2017
By Alysha Nicholas
I have finally found the “earphones” that satisfy my requirements: Walk around outside and be able to listen to language mp3s while being fully aware of your surroundings. Portable speakers, yes, but with a great, full sound. I’ve tried using earbuds that dangle loosely on the earlobes. I’ve worn the comfortable Quiet Comfort 20 that provides great sound, but wind caused turbulence and the snug fit prevented hearing conversation. Another plus to the Soundwear Companion, pause an mp3 with the press of a button; answer a phonecall the same way; rewind, fast forward, or skip a track with a few presses all without looking.

Terrific, unique sound with one major problem

 on May 7, 2018
By Steven Pugliese
I stumbled on an ad for these and they sure sounded intriguing. Many of the reviews touted it as a “personal” speaker implying that the sound was largely contained to you and would not badly disturb others. I thought maybe they’d sound to others like a pair of open speaker headphones can sound to others, very noticeable but not too loud. They also commented on the unique nature of the sound, as a sort of “sonic bubble” around your head.

Great for biking, phone calls, and more

 on May 11, 2018
By JBC
I bought these so I could listen to podcasts during my 45-60 minute bike commute. They work great for biking! The only time I can’t clearly hear my podcasts is when a motorcycle goes by. Other cyclists do notice the sound when we pass each other, or when I pull up behind them at a stoplight. But as far as I can tell it’s not loud enough to actually bother anyone. Also, using Google maps on my phone to navigate while biking is so much better with these speakers. I can hear the nav clearly without blasting the volume on my phone.

Switches from Source to Source

 on November 6, 2017
By Christopher Werby
I’ve had this unit about a week now. I like it very much.

I had been waiting for this all my life. Thank you Bose.

 on December 23, 2017
By Lalo Flores
This has replaced my all of my headphones. I use it mostly to listen to podcasts (voice) and not so much for music but quality is pretty decent for music as well. I’m able to wash my car, go to the market, the other day I installed a couple of security cameras while wearing this thing. Over the ear, on-ear, and in-ear headphones can make your ears sweat, hurt, muffle environment sounds, fall off your head etc. so they are not very practical for activities around the house or even work. I run a little the other day with it and it stayed on, but I’m not a fast runner so I’m not sure if it is good for that kind of activity. This speaker doesn’t even feel like you are wearing anything, it hugs your shoulders and it feels weightless when wearing it. It can take phone calls as well. The other day I listened to 3 hours straight and I dont think the battery went below 50%. The removable sleeve is great as well, I figure it can be washed or replaced if needed. I’m love with this thing.

The perfect solution when you have to hear the outside world!

 on December 30, 2017
By Teresa Saum
What do you do when you love the sound of music but can’t wear earbuds? For me, the Bose soundware It’s not just a compromise, but is the perfect solution. This sits on your shoulders and you quickly forget that it is even there. What I can’t get over is the quality of the sound that seems to surround my head. In my job I must have some awareness of my surroundings and with the soundware that is easily achievable. Did I mention the sound? It is like having live music around you at all times without the hassle of something jammed into your ear, or cupping it I making you sweat. Are there any drawbacks to the unit? Well, the covers are $30 which seems a bit steep as I would probably like to change them out every few days, but I am working on making my own cover so that may not be a long term issue. I would highly recommend the Bose if you enjoy superior sound but are restricted by comfort issues of earphones, or need to be able to hear your environment while you listen. I have been to the gym and on a run and never felt like I was going to lose them.

Too loud. Not customizable enough. Will be amazing someday.

 on January 28, 2018
By Amazon Customer
I’ve used this for 2 months. The hardware is great, but the software needs improvement. I’ll raise my rating to 5 stars once they improve the firmware and software.

It’s a great concept but sound quality doesn’t compete with the Bose QuietComfort

 on June 26, 2018
By Julia
Great idea, but did not work that well for me. Seems like the technology has a ways to go before it really executes the concept.

Bose Soundwear Companion Wireless Wearable Speaker - Black Review