Harman Kardon Onyx Mini Portable Wireless Speaker Review

  • Harman Kardon Onyx Mini Bluetooth Speaker – REVIEW
  • PACKS A PUNCH! : Harman Kardon Onyx Mini Speaker REVIEW
  • Harman Kardon Onyx Mini Bluetooth Speaker Review
  • Harman Kardon Onyx Mini | Bluetooth Speaker Review
  • harman kardon Onyx Mini Bluetooth Speaker Unboxing Review
  • HK Onyx Mini – Review & Soundcheck vs JBL Charge 3
  • Harman Kardon Onyx Mini – soundcheck
  • Bose Soundlink Color 2 vs Harman Kardon Onyx Mini with Sound Comparison
  • Harman Kardon Onyx Studio 4 – REVIEW
  • Harman Kardon Onyx Mini – THE BEST BLUETOOTH SPEAKER UNDER $200
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: N/A (as of August 15, 2018 6:11 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Harman/kardon – Onyx Mini Portable Wireless Speaker

Whether you’re out for a day at the beach or you’re throwing a get together at your home, music is a must. Soft sounds or upbeat jams will set the mood of the night, but it’s impossible without a portable speaker. Harman Kardon is a brand that makes some of the most elite and high quality speakers on the market. They are highly trusted for their quality, and their customer service is always ready to work out any issue. The Onyx Mini portable speaker is no different than the rest of their products. You can expect superior sound when you are setting the mood at your party, and the sound is surprisingly loud for how small the speaker is. If you want a speaker that is easy to travel with but still packs a punch, this might just be the one you need to choose.

Best Features of Harman/kardon – Onyx Mini Portable Wireless Speaker

With five different colors to choose from, you can easily express your personality through your speaker. This speaker is small, but it looks great. It’s able to play from a wireless connection through Bluetooth, or there’s also an aux cord so that you can plug it in with Google Home or Amazon Echo. It is compatible with these. The streaming throughout the room sounds fantastic, and the Bluetooth range is a fairly large one. It can connect up to three different smart devices at the same time, which saves time when someone wants a turn at picking the music. The battery is rechargeable, so you never need to worry about replacing it. The built in microphone also allows for you to make calls on it, and there is up to 10 hours of playtime. Since it’s the mini, the dimensions are 145 x 158 x 95 mm.

Pros

If one mini speaker isn’t enough, you can also get another one and it will connect between the two for better sound range. The conference call feature is really nice and easy to use, and it is perfect for offices or when families just want to all talk to someone. While it’s about a third of the size of the large speaker that Harman Kardon makes, the sound quality is almost just as good. It is clear and rich, and you can feel the music pumping through the system. At $65 it is pretty affordable for what you are getting. It’s a nice design that it has, and the different colors are fun to choose from.

Cons

Some users reported they wished it had a bit more bass, but for a mini version, it does what it can.

Final Verdict

All in all, this speaker is a great deal. It is high quality and made to last. It can also be used for multiple things like playing music or making a conference call. Both parties and offices alike can benefit from having one of these mini speakers. For $65, it’s worth every penny.

Customer Reviews

THE PERFECT MINI SPEAKER

 on September 6, 2017
By Janet Brown
Wow. I don’t even know where to start.

Overall Sound Quality Beats Competitors

 on December 11, 2016
By Mishael53
Okay I technically bought this from Best Buy, but wanted to put a review in here for others looking for a small speaker with great sound. I went through the JBL Flip 2, Sony SRSXB3, Bose Soundtouch, and finally tried this Onyx at the end and it won out. The sound quality is in the order I went through the various tests. Both the JBL and Sony’s still sounded very tin-like, with the JBL’s having the weakest bass. For me the worst thing is when the speakers make the sound emit like it’s stuck in the speaker box, versus being a part of the ambience. The Bose was okay, but the sound quality was not worth the price tag is the issue. Yes it has awesome other features like the channels and remote control, but that just isn’t worth an extra $100. One of the workers suggested Onyx, which I’d never used before and though obviously they aren’t as great as a larger high quality speaker system, they are very balanced. The Bose did have a stronger bass sound, but in turn, it also was muffled and sounded “wongy” versus the Onyx whose bass was a bit weaker, but the overall sound was crisper without having a high treble or midi. It also did what I was hoping, which was having the music not sound like it was coming from a tiny box. I tested pop, hip hop, ballads, and classical. Great job, Onyx.

Best Speaker You’re Going To Find for it’s size & price, Hands Down.

 on April 14, 2017
By Cpt. Moonbottom
Harmon/Kardon is world renowned for high end quality audio. They are also the parent company to JBL. JBL is a VERY TRUSTED name in Audio as well. JBL seems to be a bit more well known to the general public than harmon/Kardon…If I had to guess I would say harmon/karden engineers JBL devices (in this case bluetooth speakers) as test units so when they put out a bluetooth product with the harmon/kardon breanding on it, it’s a product that has been field tested & proven to be well worth it’s name sake. IF that be the case, This speaker is proof that. The tone dynamics of this speaker surpass the my JBL Flip 3 & Charge 2 as well as other speakers I own (UE Boom, Taotronics Pulse X & Rock, Sharkk Lodge, Braven BRV-1 – to name a few)

A must have if looking for a Bluetooth speaker.

 on April 19, 2017
By Papa T
These sound amazing especially for their compact size. This little unit produces pretty low range sounds and clear highs all from the same Speaker with no distortion I can hear. Usually when a speaker covers very high to very low sounds there is some distortion or lack of clarity, not with this. I got one of these for my wife to listen to her music in the bathroom I was super impressed with the sound and considering the ability to link another one of these to the same Bluetooth device I had to try it. If one sounds great 2 must be even better. Well that assumption holds true in this case. These speakers have the ability to fill the room with sound and having 2 of them fills the room with more sound. Running 2 of these sounds like a full size home stereo unit. Amazing little units.

Highly Recommended!

 on May 16, 2017
By Michael
If you’re looking for a portable speaker that will put out great sound and not out a dent in your wallet, this is it. This little speaker packs a punch and sound great doing it. I’ve had this for a while and haven’t had any issues with it. I definitely recommend it!

Solid Product

 on February 13, 2018
By Joel A.
I’m a music producer and audiophile, so I’m really picky when it comes to anything sound related. I wanted a small portable speaker for low key casual music listening.

Great balance of quality sound, attractive design, and portability.

 on May 2, 2017
By Amazon Customer
Picked up this speaker from Amazon for $75, which is a steal compared to the MSRP of 199. For 75 it is incredible. Don’t necessarily know if it would be worth it at $200.

Exactly what i needed

 on June 13, 2017
By Hairylegs222
My phone speaker during my night shift job wasn’t cutting it. This speaker is perfect. Small and sounds great. The bass it delivers is nice for its size. Bluetooth pairs quick and for each time it recognizes my phone is on.

Worth every penny

 on August 1, 2017
By Tdkadletz
Overall I’m happy with my purchase. Packaged nicely as one would expect from Harman Kardon. Speaker feels very well made. Sounds good for the size, as other reviewers have stated don’t expect a lot of bass. At high volume levels base definitely becomes distorted, but to be honest if you’re playing this speaker at that level you shouldn’t be looking at one this size. In an average size household room this speaker will give you clear and crisp playback. If you’re planning on having this speaker in an elevated spot above your ear line you may want to consider another speaker. It’s designed so that the sound is projected slightly upward to compensate for the listening position while sitting on a table or desk. If placed in a higher position the sound is projected over your head. Doesn’t make a huge difference in sound quality, however you will notice the difference depending on your listening angle. Bluetooth is super easy to connect and controls are easy to see and use.

Harman Kardon Onyx Mini Portable Wireless Speaker Review